Molly Scoop Back Dress

I am so excited to be taking part in the blog tour with The Simple Life Pattern Company in collaboration with Sew Caroline.

When I first heard The Simple Life Pattern Company. would be releasing women’s versions of several of their most popular girl’s patterns, I knew immediately the women’s version of Molly was the pattern I wanted to sign up for.  I love the front neckline paired with the scooped back on the girl’s version and was looked forward to making one for myself.  Excitement aside, I will admit that I had to give myself a pep-talk before tackling this dress, but only because it calls for woven fabrics.  It’s not that I don’t like to sew with woven fabrics, I just don’t like to iron.

Molly2-1

The pattern suggests using light to medium weight fabrics such as cotton, chambray, rayon, tencel or voile.  Riley Blake Designs was generous enough to provide fabric for this dress, and dislike of ironing aside, I fell in love with this Rustic Elegance print.  It only felt right to do go with the maxi length to show off as much of this beautiful fabric as possible and neither the pattern nor the fabric disappointed.

Molly3-1

The Women’s version of Molly includes several options.   The bodice has a loose fit and you can choose to add a collar and/or pintucks.  You can make a top, knee length dress, or go for maxi length and the size range covers XS-XXL.   Because of the large floral print, I decided to skip the collar and pintucks as I felt it would be too busy but the end result was still a beautiful dress.  I do like that the skirt isn’t too full and provides a nice balance with the looser fit of the bodice.   I just love the back bodice on this dress.  

Molly5-1

Now if you have read any of my previous blog posts, you know that I love pockets and include them on nearly everything that I sew.  This dress was no exception.  It was an easy modification to make and only took a few extra minutes.

Molly12-1

I really like this pattern and as soon as I find another fabric worthy of being ironed, I plan to make a top version and do a collar.

Thank you again to The Simple Life Pattern Company and Sew Caroline for including me in this tour and to Riley Blake Designs for this gorgeous fabric.

Don’t forget to check out the other stops on the tour and see some other lovely sews.

 

May 15
May 16
May 17
May 18

7 responses to “Molly Scoop Back Dress

  1. Pingback: Simple Life Pattern Co and Sew Caroline - a Mommy and Me Collaboration - Call Ajaire·

  2. Pingback: SLPCO x SC Blog Tour + MASSIVE giveaway! -·

  3. Pingback: Simple Life Pattern Co – Sew Caroline Collaboration – idle sunshine·

  4. Pingback: Simple Life Pattern Company Blog Tour – adventureswithbubbaandbug·

  5. Pingback: Simple Life Pattern Co. and Sew Caroline Tour {A Designer Collaboration} |·

Leave a Reply

